Contact me 07 81 78 62 62

Le yoga et le sport

Practicing Yoga can be useful as a complement to sport’s practice. These past few years more and more sportsmen and sportswomen have started practicing yoga in order to improve their physical and mental state. Whether they are surfers, golf players or athletes, all are praising the benefits of yoga on their sports practice.

Yoga is a complementary practice thanks to its effects on a physical , mental level but also on the spirit.

Yoga and surfing

 

Surfing is a complete sport which associates body movement with wave motion. Surfing and yoga are practices based on body feelings and concentration. Practicing yoga is an asset to improve surfing from a physical point of view as well as mentally.

  • Physical level

Surfing is a demanding sport for back and arms muscles.

Balinese yoga seeks to make the body work in order to improve its sheath, balance and flexibility. Thanks to each posture, each body part is strengthened and balanced. This body’s strengthening helps a surfer lasting longer during a session and carrying on for several sessions.

Balance is an important aspect in yoga because of the numerous balanced postures it requires. Balance plays also a crucial role in surfing during the take-off and riding stages. Yoga helps getting into balanced postures by concentrating and controlling the body. Controlling the body while making an effort helps preventing injuries. Balinese yoga enables an individual to learn how to feel his body and muscles while staying for several breaths in the same posture. So, as in surfing, one must learn to get in and out of a posture.

Balinese yoga focuses a lot on flexibility, a skill some surfers may want to improve. If a body develops muscles without stretching them they become shortened and so it lacks flexibility. However, flexibility is crucial in surfing if one wants to do larger movements, work out better postures and avoid injuries.

A yoga session practiced before a surfing session helps warming up muscles, stretching them, relaxing the body, working on breathing and concentrating.

A yoga session practiced after a surfing session helps relaxing muscles in order to avoid stiffness and injuries.

Yoga sessions seek to counterbalance surfing’s physical effects and to rebalance the body.

A good breathing is vital for a surfer. Balinese yoga is a practice focused on breathing. Movements are linked to breath which is important in sport’s practice. When each movement is linked to breath it put less strain on the body and this enables it to make more efforts.

Thanks to Pranayama, Balinese yoga helps working on one’s breathing and becoming tougher during surfing’s practice.

Breath management’s technique acquired by practicing yoga is a considerable asset for surfing. Breath is more regular , and recovery quicker. Linking one’s breath to the postures’ rhythm is like linking movements to a wave’s rhythm. Hence, in case of a fall, it is essential to control one’s breathing and to stay calm in order to avoid wasting unnecessarily oxygen under water.

  • Mental level

Whether through the asana practice, breathing or meditation’s exercises, concentration is an asset in yoga. You need to be concentrated on the present instant to get into a posture or out of it. In surfing, you also need to be concentrated to ride a wave and not to lose concentration between two waves. Meditation is an asset for learning how to concentrate as well as visualizing a goal to achieve, a wave to ride.

Many professional surfers have started practicing yoga firstly to improve their body and secondly to work on their concentration as it is very useful for competing.

According to Gerry Lopes « The benefits of yoga practice for surfing can go far. Whether for strength, flexibility, or simply breathing better, all these skills play a crucial role in surfing. »

Kelly Slater has started practicing yoga again to remedy his lack of flexibility. According to him, « Most of my injuries were due to stiff joints, muscle spasms or postural unbalance, and yoga is ideal for preventing this, while helping working on breathing, while helping working on breathing. »

Yoga and golf

 

Golf is a demanding sport which requires movements control as well as concentration. . Yoga can be an excellent complement in order to improve its physical and mental elements.

  • Physical level

Golf is a sport which put a strain on the whole body, in particular the back, the shoulders and the neck. It’s an asymmetrical sport because the swing is always done on the same side. Muscles are therefore more developed on one side than the other. Balinese yoga helps make muscles working out in depth and in a balanced way. Back muscles are quickly strengthened which is essential to avoid injuries by doing repetitive twisting such as swinging.

Swinging is a movement which requires strength and flexibility of the higher part of the body. Balinese yoga focuses a lot on twisting and stretching the back in order to increase its flexibility. In yoga’s practice, after a while, one learns how to keep a posture without feeling any discomfort, , by using the right muscles and by setting breathing in motion in the parts under stress. Understanding and listening to one’s body are essential to practice both yoga and golf.

Because of the numerous postures it involves, yoga’s practice will muscle any part in depth and also rebalance the different parts thanks to stretching. It enables balancing the physical effects of golf in order to avoid muscular unbalance and any risk of injury. Yoga seeks to relax muscles under stress.

Yoga improves back and shoulders’ flexibility enabling bigger and easier movements when practicing golf.

Working out on the thorax, as well as balance , and relaxation are essential to improve one’s game.

Controlling one’s breathing thanks to pranayama is an excellent technique to manage stress , and competition’s pressure. By controlling one’s breathing by the mind, it does not accelerate and consequently one is able to do precise movements because the body doesn’t shake.

  • Mental level

Yoga and golf are activities usually practiced in silence. Concentration is an important element. By practicing yoga one learns to stay concentrated in a posture without wandering about. A golf player also needs concentration whether when striking a ball or between holes. Through meditation, yoga helps focusing on a particular point and visualizing it inside. The mind is not distracted, and the golf player can visualize his stroke and the place where he must position the ball.

A lot of golf players have started practicing yoga such as Jack Nicklaus.

Yoga and running

 

Running, whether practiced for cross country, marathon or triathlon, is a sport which in the long term wears down the body. Running and yoga are similar as in both practices, the whole body is involved. The mental aspect is an essential part when practicing both activities.

  • Physical level

Running is a demanding sport which requires a sustained effort from the body. Joints such as heels, knees or even hips are put under a lot of stress and muscles are tense. All runners suffer one day from joint pains or muscle injuries.

Yoga’s practice helps the runner having a better control over his body.

Muscular strengthening is essential for the runner’s body muscle tone. More developed muscles of the lower and the higher part of the body lead to a better posture daily as well as during the race. The body stays straight without requiring any effort.

Balinese yoga enables whole body stretching. It helps becoming aware of each body part, and to activate them gently. Postures activate oxygen and blood circulation in the body. Having a more flexible body means less muscular tension and better managing one’s race.

After a run, yoga helps stretching the body in order to avoid . It rebalances the body by making up for muscular and articular efforts. Having a stretched and relaxed body prevent shortening of muscles and hence Injuries.

Running requires having a good breathing to be able to sustain the race. A runner out of breath will lose control over his race on a physical and mental level. Breathing takes on great importance in Balinese yoga. Breath is crucial for oxygenation of the body parts under tension , for staying concentrated. Respiratory capacity is increased by doing the various breathing exercises, by doing the various breathing exercises. Breathing becomes easier in daily life as well as during running practice. Yoga teaches us to control our breathing with our mind despite the effort required from the body. Recovery is quickened after a race.

  • Mental level

Running is a sport which requires being tough mentally. Despite problems occurring during a race, the runner must stay concentrated and not focus on muscular tiredness, opponents ... .

In balinese yoga, concentration is focused on breathing, a body part or even a particular point, a sound... .

Working on one’s concentration, whether by practicing postures or with meditation’s help, , is an essential element in daily life or in a sport’s practice.

Practicing yoga is an excellent tool for all sportsmen and sportswomen who wish to complement their sport. Strength, flexibility, balance, breathing and concentration are important elements in yoga practice as well as in sport’s practice.

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Jeweler Schönmann 1010 Vienna

Contactez-moi au 07 81 78 62 62

Le yoga et le sport

Le yoga est une pratique qui peut être utile en complément d’un sport. De plus en plus de sportifs se sont mis à la pratique du yoga ces dernières années afin d’améliorer leur condition physique et mentale. Que ce soient des surfeurs, des golfeurs ou encore des athlètes, tous font  l’éloge des bienfaits du yoga sur leur pratique sportive.

Le yoga est une pratique complémentaire grâce à son travail sur le physique, le mental et l’esprit.

Yoga et surf 

 

Le surf est un sport complet qui allie le mouvement du corps avec celui de la vague. Le surf et le yoga sont des pratiques basées sur le ressenti du corps et sur la concentration. Le yoga est un atout pour améliorer son surf que ce soit sur le plan physique ou sur le plan mental.

  • Sur le plan physique

Le surf est un sport exigeant pour les muscles du dos et des bras.

Le yoga balinais est axé sur le travail du corps afin de le gainer, l’équilibrer et l’assouplir. Grâce aux postures, chaque partie du corps est renforcée et équilibrée. Le renforcement du corps permet au surfeur de tenir plus longtemps sa session et de pouvoir enchaîner plusieurs sessions.

L’équilibre est un aspect important du yoga avec ses nombreuses postures d’équilibre. En surf aussi l’équilibre joue un rôle important dans la phase de take off et la phase de glisse. Le yoga permet d’apprendre à entrer dans des postures d’équilibre en se concentrant et en maîtrisant son corps. La maîtrise du corps pendant l’effort permet d’éviter les blessures. Le yoga balinais permet d’apprendre à ressentir son corps et ses muscles en restant plusieurs respirations dans la posture. Ainsi, comme en surf, il faut apprendre à entrer et à sortir de la posture.

Le yoga balinais travaille beaucoup la souplesse, ce qui peut faire défaut chez certains surfeurs. Un corps qui se muscle sans être étiré entraîne le raccourcissement des muscles et donc un manque de souplesse. Or la souplesse est importante pour réaliser des mouvements plus amples, mieux travailler sa position en surf et éviter les blessures.

Une séance de yoga pratiquée avant une session de surf permet de chauffer les muscles, de les étirer, de détendre le corps, travailler sa respiration et de se concentrer.

Une séance de yoga pratiquée après une session de surf permet de détendre les muscles afin d’éviter les courbatures et les blessures.

Les séances de yoga permettent aussi de contrebalancer les effets physiques du surf et de rééquilibrer le corps.

Une bonne respiration est indispensable au surfeur. Le yoga balinais est une pratique guidée par la respiration. Les mouvements sont coordonnés au souffle ce qui est important dans la pratique d’un sport. Chaque mouvement lié à la respiration se fera de manière moins brutale pour le corps et permettra de pousser plus loin le corps dans l’effort.

Le yoga balinais grâce au pranayama permet de travailler sa respiration et d’être plus endurant lors de la pratique du surf.

La gestion du souffle acquise lors de la pratique du yoga est un atout considérable lors de la pratique du surf. Le souffle est régulier, et la récupération plus rapide. Coordonner son souffle au rythme des postures est comme coordonner son mouvement au rythme de la vague. Aussi lors d’une chute, il est essentiel de contrôler sa respiration et de rester calme afin de ne pas gaspiller son oxygène inutilement sous l’eau.

  • Sur le plan mental

Que ce soit à travers les asana, les exercices de respiration ou de méditation, la concentration est un atout dans le yoga. Il faut être concentré sur le moment présent pour entrer dans la posture et en sortir. En surf, il faut aussi être concentré pour prendre la vague et ne pas perdre cette concentration entre deux vagues. La méditation est un atout pour apprendre à se concentrer et aussi à visualiser l’objectif à atteindre, la vague à prendre.

De nombreux surfeurs professionnels se sont mis au yoga d’une part pour améliorer leur corps et d’autre part pour travailler la concentration très utile pour les compétitions.

Pour Gerry Lopes « Les bénéfices que le yoga peut avoir sur le surf vont très loin. Que ce soit au travers de la force, de la souplesse, ou simplement d’une meilleure respiration, toutes ces aptitudes sont très importantes pour le surf. »

Kelly Slater s’est remis à la pratique du yoga pour remédier à son manque de souplesse. Selon lui « la plupart des blessures étaient la conséquence de raideurs articulaires, de contractures musculaires ou de déséquilibres posturaux, et le yoga est idéal pour y remédier, tout en permettant de travailler la respiration. »

Yoga et golf

 

Le golf est un sport exigeant alliant maîtrise du mouvement et concentration. Le yoga est un excellent complément afin d’améliorer le physique et le mental.

  • Sur le plan physique

Le golf est un sport qui engage tout le corps en particulier le dos, les épaules et le cou. C’est un sport asymétrique car le swing se fait toujours du même côté. La musculature est donc plus développée d’un côté que de l’autre. Le yoga balinais permet de travailler la musculature en profondeur et de manière équilibrée. Les muscles du dos sont vite renforcés ce qui est indispensable pour éviter les blessures lors de torsions répétées comme avec le swing.

Le swing étant un mouvement nécessitant force et flexibilité du haut du corps. Le yoga balinais travaille beaucoup avec les torsions et les extensions du dos afin d’augmenter la flexibilité du dos. Au fil de la pratique du yoga, on apprend à rester dans une posture sans ressentir de gênes, en utilisant les bons muscles et en faisant circuler la respiration dans les zones sous tension.. La compréhension et l’écoute du corps sont indispensables dans la pratique du yoga et du golf.

Grâce aux nombreuses postures, le yoga va d’une part muscler en profondeur et d’autre part rééquilibrer les zones grâce aux étirements. Cela permet de compenser les effets physiques du golf afin d’éviter les déséquilibres musculaires et les risques de blessures. Le yoga permet de relaxer les muscles sous tension.

Le yoga permet d’accroître la souplesse du dos et des épaules afin de réaliser des mouvements plus amples et aisés dans la pratique du golf.

Le travail du tronc, de l’équilibre, et la relaxation des articulations sont indispensables pour améliorer son jeu.

Le contrôle de la respiration grâce au pranayama est un excellent outil pour gérer le stress, la pression d’une compétition. En contrôlant sa respiration par la pensée, celle-ci ne s’accélère pas et de ce fait le mouvement reste précis car le corps ne tremble pas.

  • Sur le plan mental

Le yoga comme le golf sont des activités qui se pratiquent généralement dans le silence. La concentration est un élément important. Le yoga apprend à rester concentrer dans une posture sans se disperser. Le golfeur a besoin de concentration que ce soit au moment de la frappe de la balle ou encore entre deux trous. Le yoga grâce à la méditation aide à se focaliser sur un point et à le visualiser intérieurement. L’esprit n’est pas dispersé, le golfeur peut visualiser la frappe et le point où il doit envoyer la balle.

De nombreux golfeurs se sont mis au yoga tel que Jack Nicklaus.

Yoga et course à pied

 

La course à pied, qu’elle soit pratiquée en cross country, marathon ou triathlon, est un sport qui sur le long terme est usant pour le corps. La course à pied et le yoga sont similaires car dans les deux pratiques, tout le corps est engagé. Le mental est un atout indispensable à la pratique de ces deux disciplines.

  • Sur le plan physique

La course à pied est un sport exigeant qui demande au corps un effort soutenu. Les articulations tels que les chevilles, les genoux ou encore les hanches sont soumises à rudes épreuves et les muscles tendus. Les coureurs connaissent tous un jour des douleurs articulaires ou encore des blessures musculaires.

Le yoga aide le coureur à mieux maîtriser son corps.

Le renforcement musculaire est indispensable pour la tonicité du corps du coureur. Une meilleure musculature du bas et du haut du corps entraîne une meilleure posture au quotidien et aussi pendant la course. Le corps se tient droit sans que cela ne demande un effort.

Le yoga balinais permet d’étirer le corps dans son ensemble. Il permet de prendre conscience de chaque partie du corps, de les activer en douceur. Les postures vont activer l’oxygène et la circulation sanguine dans le corps. Un corps plus souple entraîne moins de tension musculaire et permet de mieux gérer la course.

Après une course, le yoga permet d’étirer le corps afin d’éviter les courbatures. Cela va rééquilibrer le corps en compensant les efforts musculaires et articulaires. Un corps étiré et détendu évite le raccourcissement des muscles et évite donc les blessures.

La course à pied nécessite d’avoir une bonne respiration pour tenir la course. Un coureur qui est essoufflé perdra le contrôle de sa course tant au niveau physique que mental. Le yoga balinais accorde une importance majeure à la respiration. Le souffle permet d’oxygéner les parties du corps sous tension, de rester concentrer. Avec les différents exercices de respiration, la capacité respiratoire est augmentée. La respiration est plus aisée au quotidien comme dans la pratique de la course. Le yoga apprend à contrôler sa respiration avec son esprit et ce malgré l’effort demandé au corps. La récupération se fait plus vite après la course.

  • Sur le plan mental

La course à pied est un sport qui nécessite d’avoir un bon mental. Malgré les difficultés d’une course, le coureur doit rester concentré et ne pas se focaliser sur la fatigue musculaire, les adversaires… .

Avec le yoga balinais, la concentration est amenée sur la respiration, sur une partie du corps ou encore sur un point, un son… .

Travailler sa concentration, que ce soit à travers les postures ou la méditation, est un point essentiel dans la vie de tous les jours et dans la pratique d’un sport.

La pratique du yoga est un très bon outil pour tous les sportifs qui souhaitent compléter leur sport. Force, souplesse, équilibre, respiration et concentration sont des éléments importants tant dans la pratique du yoga que dans la pratique du sport.

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien